Minutes of the Yorktown Town Council Regular Meeting Tuesday, January 18, 2022, at 5:30 p.m. Yorktown Town Hall

Call to Order, Pledge of Allegiance, Roll Call:

Nanci Sears Perry	Rick Glaub	Lon Fox	Rich Lee	Robert Ratchford	Daniel Flanagan	Marta Guinn
Present	Present	Present	Present	Present	Present	Present

Approval of Claims-Daniel Flanagan motioned to approve claims totaling \$2,052,250.93. Robert Ratchford seconded and the motion passed without dissent.

Approval of December 20, 2021, Council Meeting Minutes -Daniel Flanagan motioned to approve the meeting minutes. Robert Ratchford seconded and the motion was approved without opposition.

Old Business: None

Election of Officers: Daniel Flanagan motioned to nominate Lon Fox for Council President and Nanci Sears Perry for Vice President. Rick Glaub seconded and the motion passed 7-0. Roll call vote:

Nanci Sears Perry	Rick Glaub	Lon Fox	Rich Lee	Daniel Flanagan	Robert Ratchford	Marta Guinn
Aye	Aye	Aye	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes

Outgoing committee members for the Four for the Fourth, Chris Day and Ted Johnson, explained that the Yorktown Community Foundation would takeover leadership of the event and presented the Town \$36,600 to continue building trails. Altogether the committee donated nearly \$250,000 for construction of the trail system.

New Business: 1) Appointment of Department Heads-President Lon Fox was in charge of the meeting since Town Manager Pete Olson was quarantined. Rich Lee motioned to appoint the following individuals as the department heads for the Town of Yorktown 2022: Town Marshal - Shane Ginnan, Street Superintendent - Tim Caldwell, Water Superintendent - Wayne Studebaker, Waste Water Superintendent - Alan Neff, Fire Chief - David Boone, Deputy Chief - Chris Horner, and Town Attorney – Maura Hoff, Defur Voran. Daniel Flanagan seconded and the motion passed with no objections.

- 2) Employment Agreement with Town Marshal-Maura Hoff explained that Marshal Ginnan was offered a three-year guarantee of employment when he was appointed as the Town Marshal. He would still need to be appointed annually as Town Marshal. Nanci Sears Perry motioned to approve the agreement. Rich Lee seconded and the motion passed with uncontested approval.
- **3) Board Appointments-**Rich Lee moved to appoint the following individuals pending approval of appointments by the Council President: Teresa Belt (Pres), Ted Johnson (School), Rob Keisling (TC), Jeff Tingler (Pres), Heather Taylor (Pres), and Steve Moore (TC) to the Redevelopment Commission; Rodney Morrow, Randy Sollars and Michael

Burke to the Redevelopment Authority; Mark Darrall, Jason Gasaway, and Ryan Jaromin to the Architectural Review Board; Ryan Jaromin, Nanci Sears Perry, and Dan Flanagan to the Planning Commission; Marta Guinn and Nanci Sears Perry to the Community Foundation Yorktown Fund; Rich Lee to ECI Regional Planning; and Dan Flanagan to the Delaware County MPO Transportation Policy Commission. Appointments to the BZA were not confirmed. Daniel Flanagan seconded and the motion was unanimously approved.

- **4) Capital Asset Engagement-**Daniel Flanagan moved to approve the engagement with Hartman and Williams to complete the Capital Asset Ledger for 2021 and 2022. Nanci Sears Perry seconded and the motion passed without dissent.
- **5)** General Revenue Bond Ordinance 820 and 6) Additional Appropriations Ordinance 821 -The Town will issue bonds between \$750,000 and \$1,250,000 to finance the costs of the local matching portion of the construction project of the Nebo/River Road Roundabout. Rich Lee moved to introduce Ordinance 820 General Revenue Bonds and Ordinance 821 Additional Appropriation of the Bond Proceeds. Daniel Flanagan seconded and the motion passed without opposition. Rich Lee moved to waive the rules for a second reading of Ordinance 820. Daniel Flanagan seconded and the motion passed with no objections. Rich Lee moved to approve Ordinance 820. Daniel Flanagan seconded and the motion passed 7-0. President Fox explained that a Public Hearing would be the next step for Additional Appropriation Ordinance 821.
- **7) Moving the March Council Meeting-** Due to the timing of the March Council meeting during the Yorktown Community School Corporation Spring Break, it was requested to move the meeting from Monday, March 21, to Monday, March 14. Rich Lee motioned to approve the change the date of the March council meeting. Marta Guinn seconded and the motion passed with uncontested approval.

Water/Waste Water/ Storm Water-Updates to the Alarm System at the WWTP. The operators of the WWTP have received a quote to update the alarm notification system to monitor the new control systems installed with the plant upgrades. Daniel Flanagan moved to accept the quote from Frakes Engineering at a cost of \$35,000. Marta Guinn seconded and the motion was unanimously approved.

Departmental Reports- After his first week, Marshal Ginnan has presented policies for approval to the Town Manager and met individually with all but two of the officers. Clerk Treasurer Turner sought a motion to accept the surety/public official bonds of the clerk treasurer and town marshal. Daniel Flanagan motioned to approve. Rich Lee seconded and the motion was approved without dissent. The clerk treasurer referenced IC 5-11-10.5 stating all checks outstanding and unpaid for a period of two years as of December 31 can be declared void and the funds receipted back into those Funds. Rich Lee motioned to approve. Daniel Flanagan seconded and the motion was approved without opposition.

Comments were made from the Floor and by Town Council Members.

Adjournment: <u>6:05</u> p.m.	
President	Prepared by/Attest Clerk Treasurer-Lance Turner