Memorandum of the Yorktown Town Council Work Session Tuesday, January 17, 2023, at 4:00 p.m. Yorktown Town Hall

In attendance:

Bryan Smith Carolyn Gant Nanci Perry Rick Glaub Marta Guinn Nicole Rector Jason Gasaway Chase Bruton Maura Hoff Lance Turner

Legal council gave general advice regarding procedure and responsibilities of town council members.

President

Prepared by/Attest Clerk Treasurer-Lance Turner

Minutes of the Yorktown Town Council Regular Meeting Tuesday, January 17, 2023, at 5:30 p.m. Yorktown Town Hall

Call to Order, Pledge of Allegiance, Roll Call:

Bryan	Carolyn	Nanci	Rick	Marta	Nicole	Jason
Smith	Gant	Perry	Glaub	Guinn	Rector	Gasaway
Present						

Approval of Claims-Rick Glaub motioned to approve claims totaling \$1,319,821.07. Bryan Smith seconded and the motion passed with no objections.

Approval of December 19, 2022, Council Meeting Minutes-Rick Glaub motioned to approve the meeting minutes. Marta Guinn seconded and the motion passed with uncontested approval.

Unfinished Business: 1) Paving Paths at Sports Park-Jason Gasaway moved to amend the source of funds from the Park budget to ARPA funds to pay the \$75,165. Carolyn Gant seconded and the motion was unanimously approved.

2) Reach Ministry Memorandum of Understanding-The MOU presented in December allocated \$125,000 instead of the amount that was adopted in the ARP spending resolution. Bryan Smith moved to approve the correct amount of \$150,000 in the memorandum. Marta Guinn seconded and the motion passed without dissent.

New Business: 1) Election of Officers-Marta Guinn moved to appoint Rick Glaub as council president and Nanci Perry as vice president. Bryan Smith seconded and the motion was approved without opposition.

2) Appoint Department Heads-Town Manager Chase Bruton proposed the following appointments for 2023: Matt Ray, Building Commissioner, Kurt Walthour, Marshal, Alan Neff, Wastewater Superintendent, George Kane, Interim Wastewater Superintendent, Tim Caldwell, Street Department Superintendent, David Boone, Fire Chief, Chris Horner, Assistant Fire Chief, Maura Hoff of Defur Voran, Town Attorney. Marta Guinn moved to accept the proposal for appointing department heads. Jason Gasaway seconded and the motion passed 7-0.

3) Board appointments-The following committee appointments were proposed: Plan Commission members Mark Darrall, Jerry Hoffman, Eric Scholer, Ryan Jaromin, Jason Gasaway, Nanci Perry, and Trevor Oetting; Redevelopment Commission members Jeff Tingler, Rob Keisling, Steve Moore, Michael Harless, and Rachel Nixon; Board of Zoning Appeals members Mike Freeney, Mark Tinch, Katie Nixon, Jerry Hoffman, and Mark Darrall; Redevelopment Authority members Rodney Morrow, Amy Barnhizer, and Reed Levitz; Economic Development Commission members Steve Moore and Rick Glaub; Park Advisory Board members Vicki Craig, Loretta Smith, Jeff Clark, and Tyler Robinson; Delaware County Regional Waste Water member Pete Olson; Community Foundation members Carolyn Gant and Nicole Rector; ECI Regional Planning member Rick Glaub; and Delaware County Transportation Policy Committee members Rick Glaub. Marta Guinn moved to approve the appointments. Nanci Perry seconded and the motion was approved with no objections.

4) Town Council & Commission Meeting Dates-Marta Guinn motioned to amend the start time for council meetings to 6 p.m. Nanci Perry seconded and the motion was unanimously approved. Marta Guinn motioned to approve the 2023 meeting dates for the Town Council, Planning Commission, BZA, Redevelopment Commission, and the Architectural Review Board. Nanci Perry seconded and the motion passed with uncontested approval.

5) 2023 Parks & Recreation Fees-Nanci Perry motioned to adopt the fees. Marta Guinn seconded and the fees were adopted without opposition.

6) Accounting Agreement with Hartman and Williams-The Clerk Treasurer requested assistance with the annual financial reports and with bank reconciliations. Hartman and Williams requested an updated agreement. Nanci Perry motioned to approve the agreement. Carolyn Gant seconded and the motion passed 7-0.

7) BF&S Agreement-Town Manager Chase Bruton explained the agreement with Butler, Fairman, and Seufert, would provide inspection services for the Daugherty Preserve Development. Nanci Perry motioned to approve the agreement. Marta Guinn seconded and the motioned passed with no objections. **8)** Rules of Procedure-Marta Guinn moved to accept the amended version of the rules of procedure to hear public comments before unfinished business on the agenda. Nanci Perry seconded and the motion passed with uncontested approval.

Water/Waste Water/Storm Water-No unfinished business.

Departmental Reports-Town Marshal Kurt Walthour updated the council on the training of officers on domestic violence, interviewing techniques, and a virtual reality scenario training. Marshal Walthour also recognized officers Jaromin, Ginn, Thompson, and Rodriguez for working on a break in at 8913 W Smith and getting the subject in custody. The Marshal also updated the council on hang tags to be used when an officer checked on local businesses. Assistant Fire Chief Chris Horner reported that the Yorktown Fire Department responded to 987 calls in 2022, forty calls for 2023, was operating with thirty members, was actively recruiting members, that new flooring had been installed in the living areas in the fire station, that new iPads had been installed, and that the smoke detectors could still be ordered from the Fire Department website. Town Manager Chase Bruton summarized the activities of his first six days. Clerk Treasurer Lance Turner requested the approval of his surety bond. Bryan Smith moved to accept the bond. Jason Gasaway seconded and the motion was unanimously approved. Nanci Perry motioned to accept the conflict of interest disclosure statement from council member Jason Gasaway. Marta Guinn seconded and the motion passed without dissent. Jason Gasaway abstained. Nanci Perry moved to cancel outstanding checks from 2020 in the amount of \$826.19 to be receipted back into Town funds. Carolyn Gant seconded and the motion passed without opposition.

Comments were made from the Floor and by Town Council Members.

Adjournment: <u>6:04</u> p.m.

President

Prepared by/Attest Clerk Treasurer-Lance Turner