The Town of Yorktown, Indiana

A Great Place to Call Home

Yorktown/Mt. Pleasant Township Consolidation

Under the government re-organization statutes in the State of Indiana, Yorktown and Mt. Pleasant Township have become the second set of entities in the state to create a new government structure creating more efficiency at the municipal level. Beginning Jan. 1, 2013, Mt. Pleasant Township and Yorktown consolidated into the new Town of Yorktown, where the previous responsibilities of each form of government are now handled by a single governing body. The new structure has decreased the number of elected officials and the taxing levy for residents in Yorktown.

Consolidation helps provide efficient and effective government for the Town's residents along with allowing the community to focus on growth of its residential, commercial and industrial bases. Working with Delaware County, Yorktown is home to one of the fastest growing industrial parks (Park One) in East Central Indiana, and new residential subdivisions allow workers quick access to I-69 and in turn Indianapolis, Fishers, Anderson, & Ft. Wayne. The low cost of living and access to high quality education and outstanding quality of life amenities will continue to drive the growth of Yorktown.

The following links are dedicated to the procedures, minutes, study documents and other items related to the appointed study committee.

Mt. Pleasant Township appointed the following people as members of the committee:
The Town of Yorktown  appointed the following people as members of the committee:

Contact Us

9800 W Smith St
Yorktown, IN 47396
Get Directions
  • Phone: (765) 759-4003
  • Fax: (765) 759-4016
  • Staff Directory

In this Department

More Information